Minister Ring announces roll-out of transformative My Open Library service to 17 further branches

22 libraries to receive Magic Tables which benefit people with dementia, autism and learning difficulties

Mr Michael Ring TD, Minister for Rural and Community Development, has announced funding of almost €1.5 million to support the continued roll-out of the My Open Library service to 17 further branches.

My Open Library allows access to public libraries on a self-service basis from 8am to 10pm, 365 days a year. The Department funding will be matched by local authorities to the value of c.€0.5 million giving a total investment of almost €2 million.

The public libraries strategy Our Public Libraries 2022 – Inspiring, Connecting and Empowering Communities aims to introduce the My Open Library service to 100 library branches around the country by 2022. The My Open Library service is currently available in 15 public libraries with a further three due to open before the end of the year.

The service offers extended opening hours to library members including:
Opening hours of 8am – 10pm, 365 days per year.

Automated access to the branch for library members via membership card and pin code during unstaffed hours.
• Provision of self-service activities including, but not limited to:
• issue and return of books and other library stock,
• internet access on PCs,
• use of wi-fi,
• printing and photocopying,
• study/reading spaces, and
• meeting facilities.

The service is available to library members aged 16 years and over (under 18 years with parental consent).

The popularity of the My Open Library service is evident from statistics for the recent August Bank Holiday weekend when more than 1,334 people visited the 15 My Open Library branches. Deansgrange Library alone had 175 visits over the three days. These branches would traditionally have been closed for the bank holiday weekend i.e. Saturday to Monday inclusive.

Minister Ring thanked the library staff in the existing My Open Library branches, saying:
“The My Open Library service that is being provided would not have been such a success without the cooperation and commitment of the staff in these libraries. The staff as well as the users, are to be complimented for its success. I would encourage more local authorities to endorse and become involved in this initiative, to the benefit of their customers and the communities they serve.”

The initiative was piloted in libraries in Banagher and Tullamore, Co. Offaly and Tubbercurry, Co. Sligo with great success and is now also available in the following 12 libraries:
• Ferbane, Co. Offaly
• Deansgrange, Co. Dublin
• Muine Bheag, Co. Carlow
• Trim, Co. Meath
• Dungarvan, Co. Waterford
• Gorey, Co. Wexford
• Ardee, Co. Louth.
• Arklow, Co. Wicklow
• Carrickmacross, Co. Monaghan
• Ballymahon, Co. Longford
• Castlecomer, Co. Kilkenny
• Nenagh, Co. Tipperary

The following branches are due to open as My Open Libraries in December 2019:
• Swinford, Co. Mayo
• Cappamore, Co. Limerick
• Portarlington, Co Laois

The following branches are to open as My Open Libraries in 2020:
• Johnstown, Co. Cavan
• Buncrana, Co. Donegal
• Oranmore, Co. Galway
• Ballinasloe, Co. Galway
• Edenderry, Co. Offaly
• Moate, Co. Westmeath
• Athy, Co. Kildare

Funding for the following branches has been approved under this call:

Local Authority -Branch
Carlow – Borris
Cork City – Douglas
Cork County – Fermoy
DLR – Dalkey
Dublin City – Pembroke
Fingal – Baldoyle
Leitrim – Dromahair
Longford – Granard
Louth – Drogheda
Mayo – Ballina
Meath – Kells
Meath – Slane
Monaghan – Clones
Tipperary – Tipperary Town
Waterford – Lismore
Westmeath – Castlepollard
Wexford – New Ross

My Open Library Branches Innovative Technology Funding re: ‘Magic Tables’

Local Authority – Branch
Carlow – Borris
DLR – Dalkey
Louth – Drogheda
Mayo – Ballina
Meath – Kells
Meath – Slane
Monaghan – Clones
Tipperary – Tipperary Town
Waterford – Lismore
Westmeath – Castlepollard
Wexford – New Ross
Donegal – Buncrana
Longford – Edgeworthstown
Longford – Ballymahon
Mayo – Swinford
Offaly – Ferbane
Offaly – Tullamore
Offaly – Edenderry
Offaly – Banagher
Tipperary – Nenagh
Waterford – Dungarvan
Wexford – Gorey